Exclusive Premiere: Title Track to Cody Johnson’s New Album, “Gotta Be Me”

With his upcoming album, Gotta Be Me, dropping on Aug. 5, Cody Johnson is ready to bust out of the chute like one of the bucking bulls he used to ride. Cody’s new 13-song offering is his first album since his 2014 Billboard Top 10, Cowboy Like Me, and it features the baritone singer/songwriter crooning about his Texas roots—from working and drinking to fighting and fearin’.

Nash Country Daily is premiering the title track right here—a tune that unapologetically paints Cody as a cowboy, raised on outlaw country, who drinks too much, fights too much and won’t back down.

Gotta Be Me Track List and Songwriters

  1. Gotta Be Me (David Lee/CodyJohnson)
  2. Grass Stains (Mark Irwin/John Osborne/TJ Osborne)
  3. With You I Am (David Lee/Cody Johnson/Trent Willmon)
  4. Half a Song (Brent Anderson/Chris Dubois/Cody Johnson)
  5. The Only One I Know (Cowboy Life) (Shane Minor/Jeffrey Steele)
  6. Walk Away (Cody Johnson/Randy Rogers)
  7. Kiss Goodbye (Dan Couch/Cody Johnson/Dale Oliver)
  8. Chain Drinkin’ (John Osborne/TJ Osborne/Kendell Marvel)
  9. Wild as You (Michael Connors/Jeremy Spillman/Trent Willmon)
  10. I Know My Way Back (Clara’s Song) (Cody Johnson)
  11. Billy’s Brother (Dan Couch/Cody Johnson)
  12. Every Scar Has a Story (Cody Johnson/Terry McBride)
  13. I Ain’t Going Nowhere Baby (Dan Couch/Cody Johnson)

BONUS: I Can’t Even Walk (Without You Holding My Hand) feat. Carl & Sheila Johnson (Colbert Croft/Joyce Croft)

Learn More About Cody

photo by Cameron Powell